Weekend Recap!

Well, it has been quite a lazy Sunday thus far!! Here is Sadie to show you just how lazy we all feel right now:

Laaaaaaaaaazy

Laaaaaaaaaazy

Yeah, she is super tired. I woke up today around 10:30am and got to work on cleaning the kitchen and making our Sunday breakfast. (I usually sleep in pretty late on Saturday and Sunday mornings, it is a guilty pleasure!) I decided to make pancakes and bacon…with a twist. I heard a coworker talking about how his family makes pancakes, and wanted to try it out. Basically, they replace the flour in the pancake recipe withe some kind of box cake mix!! This sounded SO good, especially because he said his favorite was spice cake, so I had to try it out.

Here’s a pic of the finished product (not good quality photo!):

2 and 1/2 pancakes, 4 slices center cut bacon

2 and 1/2 pancakes, 4 slices center cut bacon

The batter turned out to be really super thin and it made kind of crepe-like pancakes, about 16 of them. I put all the nutritional info into the Weight Watchers recipe builder (my absolute fave tool on WW online) and it turned out to be about 4 points per pancake, and I ate 2.5 of them for 11 points. I also had 4 slices of center cut bacon for 2 points–I LOVE center cut bacon! Yum yum.

Yesterday, Patrick and I wanted to have a “date day” so we got up and went to Applebee’s for lunch. I had a $25 gift card so we used that there–for those of you who don’t know, Applebee’s has a WW menu and they have some really yummy selections. We got an appetizer of fried pretzels and beer cheese (um, obv that was NOT part of the WW menu, lol) but it was SO GOOD! I ordered the jalapeno lime shrimp (only 8 pts!) and only could eat about 1/2 of it after being so full from the appetizer. I figured that lunch was around 13 pts or so with the appetizer being split, as I didn’t eat the whole entree. It is huge!:

Nom nom nom

Nom nom nom

I knew that with that and the brat/corn on the cob that I had planned on for dinner, I had quite a bit of extra points to get a treat when we went on our errands, yay! I knew that Blondie’s cookies was calling my name from the mall! At any rate, we went to Books-A-Million and looked around. That place is awesome! Our best set of couple friends have a little girl who is turning 3 at the end of this month, so I bought her a couple of early reading Dr. Seuss books. Every kid needs these! I also got a “Bazinga” magnet for my fridge. ❤ Big Bang Theory.

We then went to Gander Mountain so that Patrick and I could look at the camping gear. We love to go camping, but we don't have any camping gear, lol. It's nice to dream and make a list, though! We also went to the mall so I could buy some outfits for Cadence (the soon-to-be 3 yr old) and yes, I sure did get a cookie from Blondie's cookies. My fave are the sprinkles cookies, and this is the one that I got:

SUGAR SUGAR SUGAR

It was better than it looks, I promise! Yum yum. I think I counted this as like 10 points or something. We then went home, hung out with the doggies, and had a “movie night” with netflix and popcorn. We watched Rat Race (lol…blast from the past) and I ate some popcorn and a few Reese’s Pieces to round out my points for the day. I think I went over my daily points allowance by 3, maybe? I had a brat (no bun!) and corn on the cob for dinner.

DISCLAIMER: I am 100% aware that I need have more fruits and veggies in my life! I am really, really, REALLY bad at this. I need suggestions for cooking veggies and making them yummy, because I honestly just don’t like a lot of them. I also know that I eat more processed foods than I should, and am trying to get better at this. I do buy only organic meat (and I try to stay away from red meat as much as possible) but this is all an area in which I need to grow. For those of you who don’t live in a non-hip town in Indiana (so, pretty much anything other than Bloomington or Indy), there aren’t any awesome little organic or farm-fresh restaurants or groceries around here…it’s all chain restaurants or mom ‘n pop diners with waaaaay too many fried items on the menu! It is definitely possible to make healthy choices at the restaurants that we do have, but it’s a little bit harder to make those choices, if that makes sense. I am a work in progress!

Today, we’re going to go over to my mom and dad’s house to meet their new goats! They live on a little hobby farm and they have 3 dogs, 25-30 or so cihckens, and 5 goats! They got 3 new goats on Friday, so we’re going to come say hi. I do love that my parents live on this farm, because we get free and delicious farm-fresh eggs whenever we want! It’s pretty amazing. Plus, I just love being in the country. It’s so peaceful out there. OK and Clara is licking me again omg STOP!!!!

I also plan on walking/doing an aerobic 2-miler toinght. I do a few different things to work out, and haven’t talked about that yet on this blog. My preferred method for the first few months was to use Leslie Sansone’s “Walk at Home” DVDS (www.WalkAtHome.com) because I was too self-conscious to go to the gym. These videos are awesome and I would recommend them highly to folks who are just starting out with an exercise program. It’s really easy to do…mostly walking in place, but there are 4-5 steps (sidesteps, kicks, kneelifts, tap out, kickbacks) that she adds to suprise the muscles. You’ll get a very good calorie burn with these videos, even if you’re not doing the moves as intensely as everyone on the videos. I have a 4-miler video, a 5-miler, and a 2 mile interval training (she uses a firm/resistance band for some of these). I really only will do 2 miles at a time right now, because that’s almost 30 minutes and about all I can handle!

Recently, however, I have been going to the gym (GASP) and killing myself loving it! I have started to take a Zumba class, which is amazing, and I can make it through the whole hour without passing out and/or dying. I also will walk on the treadmill for 2 miles or a little further somewhere between 3-4 mpr. When I get ambitious, I’ll even try to jog for a couple of minutes! I’m really fortunate that I get to use either the local YMCA or the fitness center at the university where I work for free as part of an insurance wellness program. It’s really awesome!

I lost 1 lb last week and that put me at 239–I’m hoping to lose more this week but since I just recently started zumba and pushing myself at the gym, I wouldn’t be surprised if I didn’t see a loss or if I even saw a gain due to my muscles retaining water.

A couple of things to look forward to this week:

1. My university is sponsoring a “Biggest Loser” competition–I weigh in tomorrow and have 6 weeks to lose weight. Whoever loses the highest % of body fat gets university workout gear! If there is one thing I LOVE, it’s buying new work out gear!!!

2. I ordered a Quantum Scale this week (http://www.quantumscale.com/). This scale never shows you a number regarding how much you weigh–you step on it one time, it records your weight, and every time you step on it after that it shows you how much you either lost (hopefully!) or gained (boo) since that original weight. I can’t WAIT (WEIGHT) to get it!!! 🙂 I’ll let you all know what I think.

Well, I think this entry is PLENTY long enough. Hope you all have a great rest of your weekend and happy start-‘o-the-week tomorrow; can you believe it’s almost AUGUST?!?!

Leave a Reply

