Me + 5k? Really?

Yesterday I decided that I want to sign up for a 5k walk sometime soon. I researched a bunch around the area, and found one that I reeeeeally want to sign up for but that I don’t think I’ll be able to do because of time/money/etc. It’s in Indianapolis and it’s basically a walk/run where you wear something from your favorite college/university!

I thought this would be a great opportunity to showcase the pride I have in the place where I work (not actually my alma mater, but I love it here regardless!) and to do a 5k at the same time. It’s on August 24th and I left work yesterday thinking that I was going to sign up for it. After talking to Patrick, though, I realized that it’s the weekend after Gencon (huge game festival in Indy) and we won’t necessarily have the gas $$ to get back up there. Boo. All the other 5k’s after this in both September and October are somewhat out of the question because I’ll be traveling for work during those months. So, the next closest 5k will be here in town in December, and is a 5k through a local park with lots of Christmas lights. Should be fun! I definitely plan on registering for this when the details actually become available!

Last night I went to the gym and got on the treadmill. Patrick came with me and walked for a bit too, it was awesome! When I looked at the treadmill menu, I saw this:

So many options!

So many options!

Yeah, we have that super awesome treadmill in our gym. It is sweet! So as you may or may not be able to see, there is a “5k” button. (This is a Nike Matrix treadmill…sooooooo nice). Since I had decided earlier that day that I wanted to walk a 5k, I was like, “oh I am SO doing the 5k workout” just to see if I could do it. And I could! I walked it in 58 minutes, with 38 of those minutes being at around 3.4 mph and about 10 of those minutes being at a 2.0 incline (that was SO HARD). I thought I was going to die around mile 2 but I kept pushing myself and before I knew it, I was at 3.1 miles and cooling down! It was awesome. I think I counted this workout to be about 6 points; I definitely finished it as a sweaty beast.

Went home to make a quiche for dinner and realized I had no pie crust, so scrambled eggs and bacon it was. I could barely eat 1/2 of it though–I just felt sickish to my stomach. Does this have to do with my workout? I ate a little bit of Graeter’s (best ice cream on the planet) for dessert and was done for eating for the night. Couldn’t handle any more than that!

As I type right now, I’m still feeling weird in my tummy. I don’t know if I’m dehydrated from my workouts recently or what–went to Mexican with the work ladies at lunch and I’m full, but I just feel weird. IDK. Going to get more water now!

Hope everyone is having a great Tuesday. Zumba tonight if I’m feeling up to it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

