I am a Loser!

-0.4 lbs, woohoo!

-0.4 lbs, woohoo!

I love love love my new scale. If I had been using my old scale last week, it wouldn’t have shown a loss at all, because it doesn’t show 10ths of pounds (and let’s be real, the lines on that old geezer are so close together that it was hard to read it PERIOD!) At any rate, I lost 0.4 lbs this week! I was hoping for more of a loss, but I did lose 3 lbs last week, so I’m very satisfied with this smaller loss. It still means that I am doing good work! Plus, I’m just one step closer to my next WW goal weight of 232.8. I’ll be there soon! It is so so much easier to think of this journey in smaller chunks. (Har har, chunk…) Sometimes I feel like I’m just doing nothing but speaking in fat/weight loss terms even when I don’t mean to!

I forgot to talk about Zumba on Tuesday night–it was great, as always. Our instructor Ryan added a song to the routine, but didn’t take a song away, so it was about 3-4 minutes longer (putting us exactly at 60 minutes on the dot). OK, so 3-4 minutes doesn’t sound like much, but holy ISH that made the whole rest of the routine harder! Near the end, I had to take a quick break and drink some water/walk around for a couple of minutes because I got my heart rate up too high and felt like I was going to pass out! Ahhhh I hate it when this happens. But the walking helped and I was back in it for the last song and cool down. There are also some moves that I typically modify to be easier on my fatty fat body–fast leg crosses, *really* fast jumping jacks in between other moves, etc, but last time I decided to go for the gold and try the “actual” moves. Yeah…I think that’s what contributed to the heart rate speed-up…which is good, but I don’t want to get it going like that again tonight. I’m going to go back to the modified moves (it’s only a few of them, anyway, maybe 3-4 total per the whole time?) tonight and pace myself to avoid another almost-passed-out situation. I still love Zumba–it is a fantastic workout, and for those of you who like to dance, it doesn’t feel like working out. I should also mention that the Zumba class I take isn’t actually much like Zumba…we do maybe 2-3 Latin songs, but the rest is hip hop, and in that way it is much more like Pulse, if you’ve ever been to that class. They still call it Zumba though, so that’s what I call it too. (Although Zumba aficionados would not like that, probably!)

Last night was fun–I got home after work and did a quick Leslie Sansone walking DVD (just a mile) before I ate a bit of frozen pizza and pineapple and headed out to the bar for Patrick’s pool game. He plays in a league with some of our friends who also play DnD with us, and last night was the last match of the season. I usually don’t go with him, because I use that time to workout pretty hard and do some stuff around our house (not to mention I watch Honey Boo Boo those nights–don’t judge! I know those folks have a different lifestyle, but I have a very strong opinion that they really care for each other and they are a really strong family, despite all the yelling, lol. I could write a whole post about that, because I get really mad when people judge them and say that they’re trash. lol That’s all I’ll say about that). The other thing is that of course with a bar, comes booze, and with booze, comes great responsibility. I love me some booze–beer, margaritas, long island iced teas, rum and cokes, tequila sunrises, the list goes on…pretty much anything but jaegerbombs…ew. At any rate, as I’m sure many of you know, booze is usually a lot lot LOT of points, depending on the drink, and I just don’t like to use my points in that way. (For example, a long island iced tea and a margarita are both 15 points each. EACH, I TELL YOU. WTF?!) The bar we go to also serves free popcorn, which is delicious, but it is super salty. So, I usually stay home. But last night I went, and was glad I did–it was nice to get out and see my friends.

Good 'ole beer

Good ‘ole beer

I ended up drinking (just as I had planned, yay!) 2 miller lites (only 3 points each) and having a couple of cups of popcorn between Patrick and me. That popcorn is SO salty, so it may have caused me to retain a little water. Oh well, it was yummy! That bar is just like a tiny little hole-in-the-wall, but we love it (it’s the bar that Patrick’s team plays for). It was really nice to just chill and see friends. I didn’t go over my points yesterday, even with the 2 beers and popcorn. Victory!

Today I rewarded myself for losing with a diet coke this morning (I know, I know. Not a good reward!) But still, it was delicious. I should mention that I have asthma (pretty mild case) but every once and a while, I feel pretty short of breath in the mornings until I’m fully awake. Caffeine really helps with that, so a diet coke this morning was just what I needed. Did you know that if someone is having an asthma attack and they don’t have an inhaler/breathing treatment readily available, you should give them pop with caffeine? I learned that when I was a first responder at the summer camp where I worked for 6 summers. I’ll have to write a post about that sometime, because that camp is my favorite place on earth and it deserves its own post πŸ™‚

At any rate, I am TOTALLY rambling now and need to get to work. I travel to high schools around the country in the fall talking to students about our university, and I need to work on the travel schedule. Here’s to a happy Thursday–it’s almost the weekend!

4 thoughts on “I am a Loser!

  1. Great job on the loss this week! I’m a sucker for Margaritas and beer too. I usually let myself have one or two during the week but usually on the days that I know I got enough exercise in. It’s my post-workout treat πŸ™‚

  2. Hey girl, got over here from Runs for Cookies – I’m from Indiana too, gotta keep the Hoosier love! Nice loss this week, btw! I don’t know a thing about Zumba, but it sounds great. As do ALL those drinks that you mentioned – but not for the amount of points plus, yikes! πŸ™‚ Keep up the great work!

  3. Melissa, thanks for reading! Yeah Hoosiers! Did you know there is going to be a reality show in Spencer, IN by the guys who do Duck Dynasty called “Porter Ridge?” Lol, should be interesting…Zumba is awesome, I recommend it to anyone who likes to dance and doesn’t want to feel like they’re “exercising”! And yeah, I agree with you about those drinks!

Leave a Reply

