GENCON=PURE UNADULTERATED AWESOMENESS

OK, so I was trying to think of how to describe Gencon in this post, and I just can’t do it justice. It was some of the best 4 days I’ve had in a while. I mean, 150,000 people who are passionate about gaming all together doing all kinds of events, eating, drinking and just generally being really merry. And I mean truly, truly merry! Everyone there was so nice. We had a blast.

On Wednesday night, we got there and went out to eat. It was nutso downtown, but we were able to get a spot in a local restaurant that had a Pathfinder themed menu–it was pretty sweet–I got a bison burger and a fruit cup for a side, and DOWNED that whole bison burger because I was starving. I’m pretty sure that it was actually cow, but it was so busy in there that I didn’t want to bother the waitress. It was still really good.

That night, we just walked around and hung out. There wasn’t much going on as most of the events started on Thursday, so it was just nice to chill.

On Thursday morning, we got up and went to the Convention Center to check out the auction and the vendor hall. The auction is cool because there’s all this stuff in it (games, action figures, cards, books, movies, etc) that are REALLY cheap and just get cheaper as every day goes on. We only had a little money this year, so we didn’t spend anything. The vendor hall is absolutely amazing too as it’s HUGE and there are tons of things to see/buy and stuff. That afternoon, our friends Bre and Scott were both running RPG’s from 2pm-11pm (Bre had a Call of Cthulhu RPG from 2-6 and Scott had an Outbreak: The Undead RPG from 2-6 and a Cthulhu DnD game of his design from 7-11). During that time, we went out to the bar with Jason (Jman) and just had some beers. It was a good time! We also went to the vendor hall and just demo’ed some games. It’s amazing–there are tons and tons of tables where you can sit and demo games all over the hall. We played a so-so game called “Phantam” that was sort of like a logic/guessing/memory game and then played a game that I HATED called “Uchronia.” It was about dinosaurs in Rome, but there was barely anything in the game that actually included dinosaurs and it was a really complicated resource game that I didn’t want to be spending my time on. I mean seriously, at this point Patrick and Jman and me were good and buzzed from the beer and that game TOTALLY was a buzzkill. Oh well!

That night Jman, Jake, Patrick and me went to the Indianapolis Indians game because we all got tix for $7 each. It was super fun, although we lost. Oh well! We went to go buy generic tix that night after the game and then we went to sleep.

Friday morning started our events–we went to “Hickman’s Killer Breakfast” at 9am, and “True Dungeon” at 11:50. Hickman’s Killer Breakfast is AWESOME. It was a show that starred Tracy Hickman (http://www.trhickman.com/) and his wife where basically, there are always 8 people on stage at one time. Tracy creates a world and situation and asks each person how they got there. The more creative/funny the answer, the better–he then melds all of these together into scenarios and it just gets ridiculous, asking people “what do you do when blank?” If he doesn’t like your answer, your character dies, you leave the stage, and someone else comes on. Roleplaying at its most hilarious!

Then we went to True Dungeon, a live walk-through DnD game. This was AWESOME, and I’d definitely do it again. Our party got blown up at the end, but it was still really fun.

We spent the rest of the day in the beer garden (nom nom) and I went to a seminar on religious appropration in gaming. It was fascinating, and gave me a lot to think about.

That night, we went back to Bre and Scott’s hotel and played “Werewolf” until 1 am or something–it’s a game that is very similar to mafia, but with a little more roleplaying involved. Super super fun!

On Saturday, we got up a little later as we were super tired from all the Werewolf the night before. We knocked around the vendor hall for a bit before our day of LARPING for 8 straight hours began (LARP-ing = live action role play-ing). I have never LARPed before, so this was new for me. We did a Battlestar Galactica LARP, and it was AMAZING. Seriously, so so fun. We started and by the time it had been 4 hours, it felt like 2 minutes. It was intense! We then LARPed a live action Cthulhu game. This was NOT at all like the Battlestar LARP, and not in a good way. Our characters had no motivations, so we basically just stood around for 4 hours. This has motivated Bre and I to try and write and run a Cthulhu LARP for next year, taking place on the Titanic–should be AWESOME if we actually can get it together, which I am confident we can.

On Sunday, we just walked around the vendor hall and picked up any last items that we wanted. It was AWFUL to have to leave–Gencon should be a full week long! I have already decided that I’m going to do 3 costumes next year, and I know exactly what šŸ™‚ Keep following me and you will find out next year!

At any rate, it was amazing and I’m so glad I had the opportunity to go. I didn’t eat well AT ALL and fell into my old eating habits, but managed to track my food every day regardless. Honestly, we walked SO SO SO MUCH that I think I walked a lot of the food/beer off-I got on the scale this am, and it said -1.4 lbs, which means I’m down 0.2 from last week. Going to zumba tonight, tomorrow, Wednesday, Thursday, and Saturday this week, so that should help.

Hope you all have a great week! I have some pics from Gencon but my computer is being silly right now so I’ll upload them tomorrow AM. šŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “GENCON=PURE UNADULTERATED AWESOMENESS

  1. WOW Sounds like you had a fantastic time! I’d love to know more about your Battlestar Galactica LARP! How fun! Going to check out your pics now! The true dungeon sounds amazing too!

  2. Glad you had a good time!!! Are you going through GenCon withdraw this week? šŸ™‚ I had a blast while working. The only bad part was I wasn’t able to stay later either days I was there (I worked 6:30am-2:30pm). I saw so many great costumes, and even just tshirts. I was totally nerding on Doctor Who things. Made me want to clear my schedule for next year!

    • Melissa, I am DEFINITELY going through Gencon withdrawal this week! We had such an amazing time–and yes, you SHOULD clear your schedule for next year. It is truly so much fun and I think it should be a whole week long! Glad you had a good time working it!

Leave a Reply

