First Gain in a While

Well, today was the first gain in a while, and I am ok with that! I gained 0.4 lbs this week:

Last week it said "--4.6"

Last week it said “–4.6”

I am actually surprised that I didn’t gain more this week. I fell of the zumba wagon last Thursday because of the new employee dinner, and haven’t gotten back on it yet. I was going to go last night, but oh my WORD the weather here has turned into amazingness, and I just can’t work out inside! Plus, Clara needs exercise too, so last night we took her on the bike trail for a walk. Look how pretty it was!

Although you really can't see much because of the BLINDING sun!

Although you really can’t see much because of the BLINDING sun!

It’s really nice again tonight, so instead of going to zumba, I’m starting my first Couch to 5k workout! Yay! I’m waiting until the sun goes down a little, but am just going to do the workout in my neighborhood. I want to go on the trail, but Patrick probably isn’t up for the C25K program yet and I don’t want to go on the trail by myself. Oh well, it’s still nice to be outside! I also bought a Daft Punk album to work out with–so that should be fun. I PUBLICLY PROMISE YOU ALL RIGHT NOW AT THIS MOMENT IN HISTORY THAT I SWEAR TO DO ZUMBA TOMORROW NIGHT AFTER WORK. I have to get back on the wagon, and better late than never. I really don’t want to fall out of my habits here, although I’m going to be traveling for work coming up soon and will then have to say goodbye to zumba for a while. I plan on doing the C25k plan, however, while traveling because all my hotels have fitness centers! Yay!

This week has been OUTRAGEOUS for food in my office. On Monday of course, there were biscuits and gravy and coffee cake. I resisted the biscuits and gravy for breakfast while everyone else was eating, but had some for lunch and a piece of coffee cake for dessert. After I ate all this nonsense (although it was delicious and GOD LOVE the woman who made those biscuits and gravy…so…good!!), Patrick called me and asked if I wanted to go over to Bre and Scott’s to celebrate Jman’s birthday that night. Now that I’m writing this right now, I realize that I’ve pretty much already written about all of this, lol. SORRY! At any rate, I did NOT say no to cake at Bre’s (eating not one, but 1.5 pieces…gaaaah KELLY!), and I also had 2 beers. Suffice it to say that I went way over just dipping into my activity points this past week and into most of my weeklies…Y-I-K-E-S. Good thing today began a new day!!

Yesterday, our boss brought in 3 big boxes of donuts for our meeting with athletics. I actually managed to say NO TO THESE! WOWZA! So I was really proud of that.

Today, however, was a different story (although I made pretty decent choices today.) Here’s a picture of our app reading room this afternoon:

food

I’m not sure if you can see everything there or not: there is a giant can of cheeseballs in the back corner, as well as a giant carton of goldfish. There is a box of leftover pizza (we had pizza for lunch for our student tour guides–classes start tomorrow!), a big cake in the middle (our VP’s bday cake), and the tupperware container next to the pizza is filled with a chex mix/cheerio/m & m/pretzel mixture covered in almond bark leftover from Monday, lovingly referred to by all in our office as “crack” because of how addictive it is. SO MUCH FOOD! I managed to just eat 2 pieces of pizza for lunch, and I actually said NO to the birthday cake and sat in the room while everyone else ate! Yay rah for me!

Yesterday was our 6-week weight loss challenge 2nd weigh in results. In 6 weeks, I lost 7.6 lbs, 3.11 % of my body weight! I still have no idea who won, but I don’t even care, because that was a great accomplishment. Now to get back in gear this week…I can do it!

Hope you all are having a great week–only 2 more days to the weekend!

Also, just remembered that my friend Des over @ http://skinnygeekwithin.blogspot.com/ nominated me for this blog question thingy! Thanks Desiree! I can’t remember the official name of this, but I’ll nominate a couple of folks after I answer 🙂

1. If you could eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?
Um, can I answer that with CARBS? Lol…no, but for real, I think I would probably pick any form of potatoes. I absolutely friggin’ love potatoes in all ways, shapes, and forms. (Especially french fries and tator tots…!)

2. What’s your greatest accomplishment?
I received my Master’s degree in viola performance at age 24 from the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music–CCM is one of the best schools in the nation for viola! 🙂

3. Who inspires you?
One of my bosses and mentors from Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp (I still need to write a blog entry about this place…). He is one of the only people I know who truly “walks the walk” and “talks the talk.”!

4. Who is/are your blog crush(es)?
Gotta go with Katie from Runs for Cookies (www.runsforcookies.com) and Desiree from Skinny Geek Within (http://skinnygeekwithin.blogspot.com/). They’re both so honest and up front about their weight loss journeys, and I really appreciate that. PLUS, Desiree is a fellow gamer–gotta love it!

5. What’s one thing on your bucket list?
I own Rosetta Stone Spanish–I’d been really diligent about keeping up with it for a while, but fell off the wagon (sound familiar?!). When I have this weight-loss thing figured out, I’m going to resume my Spanish studies with Rosetta Stone–I want to be fluent and I want to travel to Spain–one of my best friends lives in London and has offered me a place to stay whenever I visit–tix from London to Spain are very cheap!

6. What’s something we don’t know about you?
I absolutely LOVE giving people gifts. I mean, probably unhealthily so…I spend tons of time and energy working on birthday gifts, Christmas gifts, etc for my friends and family–and I don’t like to give just plain jane normal gifts–the more creative, the better! If I had endless amounts of money, I’d spend a lot of it on gift-giving!

OK, I think that’s it! I want to nominate:

Jessica from It Is Not Just About the Food at http://itisnotjustaboutthefood.blogspot.com/
Jennifer from Quest of a Chunky Mommy at http://questofachunkymommy.blogspot.com/

2 thoughts on “First Gain in a While

  1. Despite your crazy busy schedule last week a gain of .4 is not that bad! Good job on getting what you can in! And love that you started the C25K. I swear by that program! And plus running is really a great catalyst for weight loss! Love your answers too! I’d LOOOOOOOOVE to go to England/Spain (well Europe in general..) Great job on holding steady and avoiding a lot of that temptation!

Leave a Reply

