Long Overdue Update!

Aight y’all, I am SO sorry that I haven’t posted in a zillion years. Work travel will do that–I had the opportunity to post a couple of times this past trip, but I was just so exhausted that I wasn’t feeling it. So, I’ll start with last Friday and go from there! First, though, I have to share the news about my INCREDIBLY AWESOMELY AMAZING WEIGH IN TODAY:

Yes, that says MINUS 8.8 LBS!

Yes, that says MINUS 8.8 LBS!

I almost literally passed out when I got on the scale this morning! That’s not 1, not 2, not 3, but 3.6 FRIGGIN’ POUNDS lost this past week! I can’t believe it, I almost started crying because that is such a huge loss, and it’s even in the midst of my work travel–wtf?! I am so happy–looks like the combo of zumba + C25k is a real winner…I got 35 activity points this week and only ate about 15 of them, so that probably helped. C25k last Wednesday, zumba Thursday, short walk w/ hubby and Clara Friday, 4 mile walking DVD Saturday, and C25k Sunday. I even skipped 2 days (normally I try to only rest on one day) of working out and had this great loss. Of course, since I lost so much, I also lost one daily point to eat, so now I get 36 points a day. Sigh. I hate this part, especially as it’s right at the beginning of travel season. Oh well, obviously I can get through it!

Anyway, starting at last Friday. Game night turned into dinner and just sitting around talking for hours, playing a game that Bre and Scott bought at Gencon called “Geek Out.” Basically it’s trivial pursuit for geeks, so it was pretty fun. I had made the chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake for dessert, and it was pretty good! I also found a Michelob “light cider,” for only 1 point per bottle. It tastes a little bit like Red’s Apple Ale and is 4% alcohol, so it was really nice to be able to drink 3 of those and not feel bad about it at all!

Saturday was a SUPER super busy day. Woke up and had to drive to the vet to get Clara’s heartworm/flea prevention meds, then off to Avis to get my rental car. I got a Mazda 5, which is like a “mini” mini-van. It was a nice vehicle, but it hurt my back and shoulders to drive in it, even at optimum seat adjustments. Oh well–it got great gas mileage, which was nice, as I drove 629.5 miles in 3 days! After we went to Avis, we were pretty hungry, so we went to Applebee’s. I got one of my faves of their WW menu, the lime-jalapeno shrimp, which is only 8 points for the entire thing. It was yummy! I then went to my office and got the materials I had been storing there to make Patrick’s anniversary present and took it to Bre’s–I was planning on constructing it at our 2nd “Craft Therapy” session which happened that night. After that, I went home, cleaned the house a bit, and then did the 4-mile Leslie Sansone walking DVD. I DID THE WHOLE DAMN THING! That’s the first time I ever did all 4 miles, and I couldn’t believe how easy it was. Well, I wouldn’t say easy–but I didn’t feel the need to quit even though I was really tired. I know I burned a crap-ton of calories doing that, especially as the last mile adds a resistance band for strengh-training while you walk. Leslie says that that entire workout should theoretically burn off a meal’s worth of calories, so I counted it as like 8-10 points or something like that (which is a typical size lunch for me). It was a great workout! Then I showered and it was off to Bre and Scott’s for a cookout. We had yummy burgers and stuff–then at 6, the boys left and the gals stayed for our craft therapy. We each had a fake pumpkin that we were able to carve/decorate/whatever, and I decided to decoupage mine. It turned out to be super cute!:

The lighting isn't that great--sorry!

The lighting isn’t that great–sorry!

I love it, and it’s sitting on one of my bookshelves at home now 🙂 Craft therapy is so fun–it’s just a time for us ladies to get together and attempt to do crafts that we’ve seen on Pinterest. There is usually quite a bit of wine involved, lol. I didn’t drink too much of it because I knew I had to get up at 6 the following morning to drive to Columbus, OH for work. I did have 2 glasses of Arbor Mist, and I think each of those are like 3 points each. I had done fine with my points for the day though, and wasn’t worried about it. OH, I also made Patrick’s anniversary present, which was a candygram! It ended up being really cute–it was a poem on a piece of posterboard that I interspersed with candy bars/candy to complete the poem. I don’t have a good picture of it, but he really liked it 🙂

On Sunday, I got up bright and early and drove the 4 hours it took to get to Columbus, OH. I had an audiobook, called “The Dog Stars” by Peter Heller. Honestly, I didn’t finish it because I didn’t like it AT ALL. It was way too super depressing to listen to in the car driving on the highway, especially because SPOILER ALERT the guy’s dog dies and I was just like a sobbing mess on the highway…it was horrible! So yeah. Next time I am going to get a comedy (I really want Tina Fey’s bossypants) for my long drive when I leave next Monday. Sigh. First world problems. I got to Columbus and worked a really great college fair, then it was time to relax in my hotel. I was really excited about finding somewhere local to eat that night, but the district where I went to get some food was having some kind of event and there was NO parking anywhere! I was SO frustrated and super hungry and couldn’t find anywhere to eat, so I caved and went to the McDonald’s next to my hotel and watched Sister Wives for the rest of the night. lol. I got chicken nuggets and fries and I don’t even care–I still managed to stay within my points for the day. Oh yeah–after I got to my hotel after the college fair, I did the first of the 2nd week of C25k. This is harder–90 seconds of jogging sandwiched between 2 minutes of walking for a 31 minute workout. I thought I would die, but I made it through. I stayed on the treadmill for 15 more minutes and did 2.67 miles in 45 minutes. It was a great workout! So then I went to McDonald’s and stuff, so I didn’t feel as bad since I did that monster workout.

Monday was a bad, bad, bad day. I did a college fair that was not good at all, and I wasn’t really feeling well. I did go to Subway for lunch, which I felt like was a decent decision, except that Subway food isn’t any less processed than McDonald’s honestly. I’m pretty sure that “Eat Fresh” is like the opposite of what you’re doing when you go to Subway because of all the preservatives packed into their bread and meat, but it’s still better point-wise for me than a lot of other options. I drove to Dayton that night and went to sleep early, and felt a lot better. My hotel in Dayton was really nice–look at these beds!

pretty!

pretty!

Not only are they nice-looking, they were incredibly soft! I got a great night’s sleep there. When I woke up and got dressed the next morning before my high school visits, I glanced in the full-length mirror in the hotel room. I know that I’m wearing black on top and that’s slimming, but I was like DANG! I look skinnier! So I snapped a pic, lol:

Excuse the hair-drying towel on my head!

Excuse the hair-drying towel on my head!

Also, when I was in the elevator, I took a picture of what they had displayed on the door, it was a pic of the hot breakfast the hotel offered, and I took a pic because I thought to myself “who in America eats a breakfast that looks like this? This is such a Euro breakfast!”

lol

lol

And then I went downstairs to eat breakfast, and unknowingly constructed almost the exact same plate of breakfast as in the fake hotel pic, lol!! Here’s what I ate:

Yummy yum yum!

Yummy yum yum!

Hahaha, I thought it was so funny that I was seriously judging their fake-breakfast display in the elevator and then I pretty much ate the exact same things, lol. It was a great breakfast though! I did 4 high school visits yesterday in Dayton, and they all were great. I was able to find a little local pizza place for lunch, and it was so good, not to mention really affordable. I got a half of a small thin crust pizza and garlic bread/drink for $6.66 (lol, the lady at the cash register looked at me like I was Satan). I only ate 1/2 of the garlic bread! Here is my lunch (and yes, I know I went way too pic-happy in this entry!)

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm

If you’re ever in Dayton, OH, you should try this place–it was so good! It’s called Marion’s Piazza, and according to some of the counselors at the schools that I visited, it is pretty much an institution! I’m really glad to have found a yummy, affordable local place. After my last high school, I drove back home and met Patrick to return the rental car. Yesterday was our 2-year anniversary!!

Let me just start this out with saying that Patrick is the best husband EVER! I got home and he was all snazzy and dressed up for me. He had told his teacher at auto tech school on Monday that yesterday was our anniversary, and his teacher told him to just take the day off! It was really nice of him to do that. So, when I got home, Patrick had cleaned the entire house, dressed all snazzy, put my present in the bathroom (it is a really fuzzy and warm zip-up bathrobe type thing–and ps, it is only an XL–AND IT FITS!), and warmed up a delicious concoction of apple cider + Crown Royale Maple in the crockpot! OMG and it doesn’t stop there…he then proceeded to make us a WONDERFUL dinner of marinated grilled chicken with fresh corn on the cob!!!! :

LOOK AT THIS!

LOOK AT THIS!

Needless to say, I was incredibly impressed. I love him so much!

Today it was back to the office and the grind until Friday. Then, I walk my first official 5k on Saturday, and off to my next work trip for a full workweek on Monday! Sorry for the INCREDIBLY long read and thanks to those who stuck with me through the whole post, ya’ll are great!

8 thoughts on “Long Overdue Update!

  1. Oh wow! Mega post but I like it!!! First off.. OMG OMG OMG OMG Look at you with a 3.6 pound loss!!! You are rocking it, sweetie!

    I’m going to have to find that game. Sounds like it would be right up our alley!

    Good job on staying On Plan the trip! That is awesome and great job on starting week 2!

    And wow, what a great job Patrick did! That’s so sweet! Wishing you both many, many more happy anniversaries to come!

Leave a Reply

