Tales from the Road

WARNING: LONG ENTRY! Hello friends! First of all:

"--9.0"

“–9.0”

WHAT?!?! I LOST 0.2 LBS SINCE THE LAST TIME I WEIGHED IN ON 9/16! Granted, that’s only 0.2 lbs gone in two weeks, but considering all the crap that I ate while on the road (mac n cheese, cookies, ice cream, etc.), I am totally amazed and really proud of myself. I did try to work out as much as possible while I was on the road, so I got a couple of C25k treadmill workouts done, and I think that really helped. I was so surprised when I stepped on the scale, I thought I’d gained like 3 lbs or something!

As I mentioned before, I had a really great time in Nashville, TN last week. While I was there, I got to eat some great food and go to some neat places. One of the first nights that I was there, my newly made friend from another university and I went to eat at this place called “Caney Fork Restaurant.” It was really close to both of our hotels, so we just met there–it said it had “camp style” cuisine, which sounded awesome to me. I also saw some banners on the outside of the restaurant that rated it as one of the best dining experiences in Nashville, so I was sold! I really wanted to eat as much local food as possible vs. chain restaurants, so this was a good choice. When I got there, I saw that it looked like a log cabin on the outside–so cute! Then, on the inside, they had this amazing waterfall:

Wow!

Wow!

Complete with huuuuge swimming catfish, although he doesn’t look that big in this pic:

The staff calls him "Bubba"

The staff calls him “Bubba”

I really had a hard time deciding what to eat, and settled on fried fish with fries. When I got this, I didn’t realize it also came with two sides, so I got fried okra and steamed veggies. It was WAY TOO MUCH food, I mean there was no way I could eat it all, but everything on the menu seemed to be this kind of a portion:

WOWZA

WOWZA

I should’ve taken a picture after I “finished” eating–I probably ate half a piece of fish, a few fries, a bite of steamed veggies, and like 3-4 okra. I just got really really full, I think it’s because I’ve lost so much weight and my stomach can’t handle it. Not to mention that although it was delicious, the batter on the fish was thicker than HELL, so it was just too rich for me. I ate one of the hushpuppies as well but had to call it quits after that. My friend ordered a piece of their famous chocolate peanut butter pie, and I had a few bites of that, but afterward, I was DONE. I was glad I didn’t eat everything, or else I would’ve felt even worse than I did, lol!

One of the nights, I went out to eat with a sorority sister who I hadn’t seen since my wedding 2 years ago!! It was so great to see her–we were just talking the other day about how great it is to have friendship where it feels like absolutely no time has passed in between seeing each other after long periods of time, and that’s the kind of friendship it is. She took me to this place called the RosePepper Cantina, where the “best margarita in Nashville” lives πŸ™‚ It was SO YUMMY! The place is apparently a mecca for tequila lovers. I had a quesadilla, and then we went to this ice cream place across the street called “Jeni’s.” They had all kinds of delectable gourmet ice cream flavors–I got buckeye and pistachio honey. They were SO GOOD! I’m not sure if you can see the menu from this pic, but they had all kinds of amazing looking flavors–it was really hard to choose:

It was so cute in there!

It was so cute in there!

Overall, it was a fantastic trip, and I can’t wait to go back next year. This past week, I was in Cincinnati, OH, where I went to grad school! On Sunday, I met up with my bff from grad school Sarah and we went on a 4 mile walk in Eden Park–this park, if you don’t know, is SUPER hilly–I mean at one point I felt like we were climbing a mountain (which is ridiculous because obviously it was just a hill) but the incline was reeeally steep. It was a great workout, and when we got to our cars back at the top, the view made it all worth it:

cincy 1

cincy 2

After the walk, we just caught up. She is such a wonderful person–she ran 3 MARATHONS IN ONE YEAR, people. I mean, for real. And at least one (if not more, I can’t remember!) was the Cincy Flying Pig, which is one of the hardest marathons to run because of the hills. So SHE IS AMAZING and I love her! It was so nice of her to walk with me that day.

On Monday, I was doing high school visits and college fairs all day, and that evening, I decided that I really wanted to go to the best ice cream place in the world (sorry Jeni’s)–GRAETERS. If you have never been to Cincinnati and you love ice cream, I would highly recommend visiting just for the sake of eating some of this stuff. It’s Oprah’s favorite ice cream and she has it shipped to her–you can have it shipped anywhere (but just a warning, it is $$$$$$$$$$ to ship!) Graeter’s uses what is called the french pot method of making ice cream, and they only ever make 2 gallons at a time. I swear to you, it is the creamiest, most delicious, most amazing ice cream on the planet. All other ice cream that you eat after Graeter’s will just taste like nasty flavored ice crystals, I PROMISE YOU. So, I had been missing this place a lot since graduating from grad school and decided to go back. I got “one” scoop of pumpkin and “one” scoop of choc chip cookie dough (my fave) and whipped cream…ok, clearly, she did not give me one scoop of each:

WHAT

WHAT

I probably ate about 2/3 of this, just because I got soooo full. It was so good and just what I was craving!

On Tuesday, I went to see “Prisoners” and essentially had movie popcorn for dinner. It was a delightful evening, and the movie was great. Yesterday, I went to my fave mac-n-cheese place in Cinci and got the “BB King,” which is the bbq pulled pork mac n cheese–omgoooooooooooosh it was so good, just like I remembered it! Although since my stomach has shrunk since I’ve moved away from Cinci, I could eat a lot less of it:

Before

Before

After

After

I was simultaneously ashamed and proud of myself for not finishing most of it, lol! I also got together with my former boss when I worked in CCM Admissions and my best viola friend from grad school. It was so great to see both of them–then I worked another college fair, packed up, drove back to our house, and here I am! Next week, I’ll be gone on another work trip from Sunday until Thursday–my friend that I made in Nashville TN will be in the same area as me, so hopefully we can hang out again! I won’t be able to weigh in again next Wednesday, so just stay tuned for the week after πŸ™‚ Hope everyone has a great weekend…anyone have fun plans?

2 thoughts on “Tales from the Road

Leave a Reply

