Winter is Here!

Snow!

Snow!

This is the tree outside my office; it seems like I JUST posted those pics where it had the pretty orange leaves on it! I can’t believe that we have several inches of snow outside. I was outside on Wednesday night in a tshirt, it was so warm! Ack, the weather of the midwest. So unpredictable. It’s actually supposed to snow all day today and through the night, so we’ll have even more snow tomorrow…I’m ok with that, because:

I CLEANED OUT OUR GARAGE AND NOW THE CAR CAN FIT IN IT! I did this on Wednesday night–I was so proud of myself for doing it alone! I was super productive that night–I also made a “Nutcracker Torte with Rum Cream” for dessert @ game night tonight–I don’t think it turned out quite right, I didn’t beat the egg whites long enough. But I think it will still taste good…the rum cream tasted AMAZING, it tasted like cool whip with rum in it. OMG so good! So I’m excited to try that tonight.

I ALSO BOUGHT A BRAND NEW WASHER AND DRYER! This is a huge deal for me, because it’ll be the first time I don’t have to do any of the following since leaving my parents’ house to go to college:

1. Pay for laundry
2. Go to the laundromat
3. Carry my laundry out my front door and into the car
4. Do my laundry at a friend’s house or my parents’ house

I AM SO HAPPY! They delivered yesterday before all the snow hit and they are sitting safely in my garage. I did a load last night and they work wonderfully–I know it’s silly to be so excited about a washer and a dryer, but I am absolutely thrilled…it’s going to make my life so much easier.

I’ve been in a weird food/workout mindset lately. Last night I pigged on pizza because we helped a coworker move into our neighborhood and she gave us pizza $$. I know that I didn’t have to spend it on pizza, but we were so hungry and tired after helping her move that I didn’t feel like cooking. Argh. This morning and I forgot to bring breakfast to work because I was running late, and a coworker conveniently brought in Krispy Kremes–I managed to stop at 1 and a half of them, but STILL. I didn’t do zumba on Tuesday, Wed, or last night, but I did count lifting and moving all the heavy boxes on both Wed night (For the garage) and @ our coworker’s apt last night as a few workout points. I don’t think I’m going to be able to fit any in tonight either before gamenight . ACK. Tomorrow, Sunday, and Monday, I’m going to try to do 60 minutes of zumba. That’s only 3 times in a week and I prefer at least 4, but it’s better than nothing. I’ve been fluctuating around this 50 pound mark and I need to work harder to get out of it, but it’s so hard at this time of year! I know I’m just making excuses, but I really need to mentally get back on track–that’s where the problem is. Ah well, it’s all a mind-game and I know these mental slumps happen in the weight-loss process–I just need to be better at getting out of them!

I’ve got almost all my Christmas shopping done and wrapped and am just now waiting on several packages to arrive and then I’ll be finished. Not to mention Christmas baking–there are so many things I want to make and not enough time! Hope you all are having a great and non-stressful time organizing your holiday plans. No wonder people get stressed at this time of year; I’m not letting it happen!

2 thoughts on “Winter is Here!

  1. Oooh send some of that snow down here! It is so so hard with the holidays. I’ve decided this year to not bake cookies like I have previously. I will just make the Pecan Candy that I bring to my work party and to our family party and that’s it. Yay for new appliances!!!

Leave a Reply

