Tootin’ My Horn

stweie victory

So I have a few NSV’s to brag about today, and I am really happy about them πŸ™‚

As I’ve mentioned before, our university has between 5-7 holiday parties between Thanksgiving and the holidays! We’ve already had a few this week–one was a brunch on Monday, and then we had a dessert reception yesterday and currently the President’s office is throwing a reception. The dessert reception yesterday was across the street and it was freezing outside, so I decided not to go. Plus, I knew that there would be tons of tempting desserts, and I just didn’t want to go there. So, I didn’t! I was really proud of myself for avoiding temptation. One of my coworkers said before she left, “Kelly, you have so much willpower!” And I said, “I’m not going because I have willpower…I’m not going because I DON’T have willpower and as soon as I’d get there, I’d cave!” So I didn’t go. NSV #1 FTW!

NSV #2 came today. Two of my coworkers share a birthday today, and we always get cakes (or dessert of choice) for the birthday folks in our office. Well, coworker #1 wanted pie and coworker #2 wanted cake, so we had a full sheet cake, a cherry pie, and a caramel apple pie sitting in our app reading room at 8am. I decided that I was going to eat a TINY piece of cake and a TINY piece of pie (still probably topping the points at 9 points total), but I wanted to wait until after lunch. It was hard to hang out in the room while everyone else ate cake or pie, but I was really proud of myself. In the past, I would have had a big ‘ole piece of cake at that time and then probably a slice of pie after lunch. Yikes! NSV #2 FTW.

NSV #3 is about to happen–I’m going to the President’s office party RIGHT NOW. I’m planning on getting one cup of wassail and a plate of either fruits or veggies or both (nothing with a point value). I may not even get fruit or veggies since I’m pretty full from all the water I’ve been drinking–but I’ll update this entry as soon as I come back! OK–just got back, and I stuck to the plan, woohoo! I got a small plate full of fruit (pineapple, melon, grapes, strawberries) and a 1/2 a cup of wassail. It was delicious and warmed me right up! So woohoo, NSV #3 FTW!

I really feel like I’m pretty well on track now and super in-the-zone. It has been a lot easier for me to resist food in the past few days than it used to be, and I’m SUPER surprised about this since it’s the holiday season. Up until just recently when something “clicked,” I’ve always had the mindset that “I have to eat that or else someone else is going to eat it,” which is honestly so stupid I can barely even believe that I used to think that. I honestly think that that’s probably 75% of the reason I’d overeat in the past, so that no one else would eat whatever it was…or just because something tasted “too good to waste.” Now I don’t feel like that at all. My coworkers are gonna eat the rest of the cake without me getting any? Fine, I don’t mind πŸ™‚ There are sugar cookies upstairs at the President’s reception and everyone is eating it except for me? Not a problem–let ’em eat! I certainly will have another chance in my life to eat a sugar cookie. I don’t feel sad or deprived to be missing out on this stuff either, which is a HUGE deal.

At any rate, I’m really happy with this newfound mindset. It has taken me a long time to grow out of these habits, and I’m sure that they’ll return at some point in the future, but for now, I’m content.

Tonight I’m going on a date night with Patrick to do some goofy thrifting at Goodwill and then we’re off to get my favorite Starbucks holiday drink (peppermint white hot chocolate with non-fat milk and no whip, at 5 points for a short!) and with that, we’ll drive through the local park that puts up a Christmas light show display. I am really excited! Even with the small pieces of cake/pie I had today, I won’t exceed my 35 daily points. Woo!

Hope everyone has a great weekend. We’re taking Bre and Scott’s daughter Cadie to her dress-rehearsal for her dance recital tomorrow morning, but other than that, we don’t have plans. Hope everyone has a great weekend!

6 thoughts on “Tootin’ My Horn

    • Thanks Jaime! I have NO idea what has changed in my brain to help me with that, but I definitely know what you mean. It’s not stupid! I think half the battle is when everyone else who is eating keeps talking about it, “Are you sure you don’t want any? Really? are you REALLY sure?” And then even if you were feeling ok about it, you start to get upset. Ugh. I totally get it!

Leave a Reply

