Holiday Run-Down

Hello to all, and Happy New Year’s Eve!

Today is the first full day that we’ve had at home, and as a result I am catching up on housework, blogging, email, etc. We had an absolutely wonderful Christmas spent with Patrick’s family and then a lovely past weekend spent at my parents’ farm. Patrick and I celebrated Christmas with each other on the morning of Christmas eve:

The zombie stuff that Patrick got me--calendar, mug, Compendium I of TWD!

The zombie stuff that Patrick got me–calendar, mug, Compendium I of TWD!

Our wrapped presents to each other

Our wrapped presents to each other

The hand carved wood sign I got Patrick

The hand carved wood sign I got Patrick

Patrick's stocking innards

Patrick’s stocking innards

Patrick got dice in his stocking (he bought them haha)

Patrick got dice in his stocking (he bought them haha)

I got dice too (creeper face)!

I got dice too!

Clara opened her stocking all by herself

Clara opened her stocking all by herself

The cinnamon roll overnight bake that I made for our Chistmas eve morning

The cinnamon roll overnight bake that I made for our Chistmas eve morning

My stocking innards

My stocking innards

That cinnamon roll bake was HEAVENLY–it was basically like cinnamon roll bread pudding. I put it in the oven at 7:30am to bake for a bit before we got up and DAYUM our house smelled so good!!

I got some pretty awesome stuff for Christmas, among them quite a bit of Barnes and Noble $$, the new Stephen King book (which I read in 3 days–LOVED it), a brand spankin’ new beautimous crockpot, and a cute little mini-waffle stick griddle! I got lots of cute little things as well–a really precious “daughter” necklace from my dad, which I’m going to wear like all the time.

We had a nice walk in the woods on my parents property and the whole animal crew came with us: two dogs, 4 goats, and a little kitty. The kitty even rode on Patrick’s shoulders the entire way back–I wish I had taken my phone so I had pics of it! I love going to my parents’ farm. Here are some highlights:

Christmas dinner that my mom made: pork roast, cheesy taters, broccoli, bread

Christmas dinner that my mom made: pork roast, cheesy taters, broccoli, bread

Xmas breakfast that my mom made: monkey bread, bacon, and farm fresh eggs

Xmas breakfast that my mom made: monkey bread, bacon, and farm fresh eggs

This is LITERALLY what I did almost the whole time I was at the farm...:) couldn't get better!

This is LITERALLY what I did almost the whole time I was at the farm…:) couldn’t get better!

OK, so obviously we had a WONDERFUL holiday and I am so happy with how it went, but my eating has been out. of. control. I suppose tihs comes with the territory, but omg, it has been nuts. I will say that I am incredibly proud of myself for LOSING about 5 lbs between Thanksgiving and Christmas, but last week when I weighed in (on Christmas mind you–merry effing Christmas to me), I saw this:

"--15.0"

“–15.0”

Ew, that means I gained 2.6 lbs in the week before Christmas. Yikes. I had even been working out that week, too, but I ate way into my negative points that week, so it makes sense. I have only done 30 minutes of zumba this past week (last night) because we were out of town most of the time, so that sucks as well. I will say that I have tracked every single day, even though there were a couple days that I came DANGEROUSLY close to not tracking, but I know that that is way too much of a slippery slope for me, so I didn’t fall into it. This week I’ll have managed to eat all my dailies, weeklies, and activities before my new week starts tomorrow–but I didn’t go into the negative points, so that is great. I do find it SUPER convenient that my new week starts on New Year’s Day :)…but as you can see, my house is now FULL OF CANDY, so I will have to figure out something to do about that…:/

I am SO dreading my weigh-in tomorrow. It’s also TOM week, which seems super unfair, but that’s just the way life is. Ugh. But I swear I will post tomorrow regardless of the ugly of the situation, because this blog keeps me accountable. Also, since tomorrow is the first day of 2014, I want to set some serious goals. I don’t like the idea of “resolutions” because I feel like most people go into that idea KNOWING that they won’t keep them, so I’m going to call them goals. I’ll also post some reflections, because 2013 was a great year for my health and body.

Hope you all had a wonderful holiday season and have a great New Year!!

4 thoughts on “Holiday Run-Down

Leave a Reply

