Still Snowed In…

Well, it’s day 4 of being snowed into our little cozy household. ( I got another snow day today off work!!) I saw this online and thought it was hilarious:

lolz

lolz

I don’t quite have cabin fever yet, but I am kind of itching a little bit to get out of the house. I am SO glad that I made this huge pot of chili on Sunday:

yum!

yum!

This is a taco chicken chili I found online. It is really easy, so I thought I would post the recipe really quickly:

Taco Chicken Chili (from http://table.io/)

6 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 can black beans (16 oz), drained and rinsed
1 can kidney beans (16 oz), drained and rinsed
1 cup tomato sauce
1 can corn (16 oz), drained
2 cans diced tomatoes (14.5 oz)
1 packet taco seasoning
3 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (optional)
1 tbsp chili powder

Instructions
1.In a large crock-pot, add all of the ingredients and stir. Draining and rinsing the beans is not necessary, but it will help cut down on the amount of liquid in the crock-pot later on.
2.Cook on high approximately 4 hours or on low 6-8 hours, until done.
3.Remove the chicken breasts and shred. Return the chicken to the crock-pot and cook for an additional 20 minutes. This will allow the shredded chicken to absorb a bit more of the liquid.
4.Serve over rice and enjoy!

This recipe made TONS of chili and is really delicious. I put it in the “recipe builder” on my WW tracker, and it is only 5 points per CUP. Plus, it is incredibly filling (mostly chicken) and super delicious. It’s really good with saltine crackers!

I also made some great french dip meat, with a recipe from Six Sisters (http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/)

Ingredients:
2-3 pounds Roast Beef or pork
2 cans beef consomme (14 1/2 ounces each)
6-8 Hoagie Buns

Place roast in greased slow cooker. Pour Beef Consomme over the top. Cook in slow cooker on low 8-11 hours and high 5-7 hours. Remove roast from slow cooker and shred with two forks. Reserve juices in crockpot to dip the sandwiches. Serve meat on buns.

This was SO good and so easy. Putting some cheese on the sandwiches (pepperjack, swiss, provolone are all good) really helps too 🙂

I’m proud of myself–instead of eating like CRAZY at home, Patrick and I have been catching up on How I Met Your Mother during this delightful blizzard and I’ve been reading. I finished The Hobbit last night and started the Fellowship of the Ring. I did also manage to do 30 minutes of zumba last night and am planning on 45 minutes tonight. I have my weigh-in tomorrow morning and although I don’t know what to expect, I feel really good about how I did this week.

Hope you’re all having a great Tuesday! I am sure I will be back to work tomorrow…! Here is how Clara feels about the blizzard. She hates going outside to potty when it’s like this:

clara

4 thoughts on “Still Snowed In…

Leave a Reply

