4 Big Miles

As many of you may remember, yesterday I was completely unsure of what I would do to work out last night. My legs were still pretty sore from Saturday, so I decided to do a low-impact walking DVD. I set out with the intention of doing 2 miles (about 30 minutes), but ended up doing the entire DVD–4 WHOLE MILES! I’m not even sure that I’ve ever done this before, so this was a huge accomplishment. This is the DVD that I used:

Leslie Sansone

Leslie Sansone

For those of you who are NOT runners and don’t feel coordinated enough to do something like zumba, I would highly, HIGHLY recommend Leslie’s “Walk at Home” exercise fitness walks. I also highly recommend it to those who are just starting out in their weight loss journey, for a number of reasons:

1. It’s a DVD–you can wear whatever you want, work out in whatever room of the house you want, and if you’re self-conscious, you don’t have to go to the gym! I used these all them time when I started working out and before I found zumba and was too intimidated to go to the gym.

2. It’s SO easy. Her fitness walks consist of 4 major steps in addition to walking in place: sidesteps, kicks, kneelifts, and “tap outs.” These may sound difficult, but I swear they’re not. The best part? Just modify it ALL to your activity level and ability. I guarantee it will get your heart rate up if you’re putting in effort based on your ability.

3. Leslie is very encouraging. She is super peppy and cheerleader-ish, so if that’s not your style, don’t do one of her workouts, lol. When I first started her DVDs and they were killing me, this REALLY got on my nerves. But now I feel GREAT when I’m doing these DVDs, even if I’m sweating, and I definitely appreciate her encouragement.

4. She uses strength training in addition to cardio to build muscle in some DVDs. In this DVD, for example, a firmband came in the package (basically a resistance band) and it’s used to tone arms in the 4th mile. The DVD that KILLED my legs on Saturday is a Sansone dvd and is a combo leg/arm/core strength training and cardio DVD. You’re getting more than just cardio with these extra things!

At any rate, I’d highly recommend her DVDs. They still make me sweat even after losing 54 pounds! I was THRILLED that I could do the entire DVD last night. At one point at the end of the DVD, Leslie says something along the lines of, “You made a good choice today by choosing to exercise. You are taking care of yourself and you should EXPECT weight loss. Expect it! I want you to get excited to change your body!” I have heard her say that a million times in other DVDs, but for some reason, last night it just resonated with me so much. It was super encouraging, and it helped me push through that 4th mile. I felt like I could go on for a 5th or a 6th mile! It was super invigorating, and I’m just really proud of myself for being able to handle it.

I had lost 7 lbs at the weigh-in at work this morning (first weigh-in was Nov. 19), exactly what I was expecting, so I’m very happy with that. We’ll see if I win a fitbit–here’s keeping my fingers crossed!

Hope all y’all are having a great Tuesday. We’re almost halfway through the week! Has anyone else ever tried Leslie’s DVDs? If so, how do you feel about them?

2 thoughts on “4 Big Miles

Leave a Reply

