So Many Yummies

Greetings, friends! I am feeling good despite my +2.6 lbs setback yesterday, and thought that I would devote this post to one of my fave things (obv): food and drink. Lately, I’ve tried some new things and have made some of my golden oldies, and I figure I might as well share them with those who are interested. Maybe I’ll even make this a Thursday tradition–Tasty Thursdays? I suppose that title is alliterative by definition but it doesn’t SOUND like it, so I may have to think of something else. At any rate, I think that I’ll try to make it a regular post each week.

This week, the loose leaf tea that I bought from David’s Tea for Patrick’s birthday arrived. (www.davidstea.com) I discovered David’s through Katie @ Runs for Cookies (www.runsforcookies.com) and oh my WORD it is amazing. If you are a tea fanatic or even if you just like it a little bit, I would highly, highly recommend David’s. Patrick got a “manatea” tea infuser for Christmas, and we didn’t have any loose leaf, so I went to David’s. I got him a couple of packets of English breakfast, our go-to fave, and the package came with all of these goodies:

davids tea

There were two packages of English breakfast tea, a free tea-tin, a small book with listings of their winter selections, and 3 free tea samples. What a nice little gift pack! Patrick busted into it right away and made his tea:

Can you tell that manatees are his #1 all-time favorite animal? :)

Can you tell that manatees are his #1 all-time favorite animal? 🙂

He really liked the tea, and he even went through the book and marked all the teas that he’s interested in trying. He wanted me to go through them as well and put my initial next to the ones I am interested in; then, he said we could try the ones that we both liked first. Isn’t that adorable? I’m so glad he liked his gift. I’m excited to try one of the free samples because it has peppermint and white chocolate flavors–totally up my alley! I’d highly recommend this Canadian-based company to you tea lovers out there.

The other night, I made stromboli for the first time ever. It was a super easy “anyone can do it” recipe, and it was DELICIOUS. All I needed was one can of pizza dough (pillsbury or generic brand canned dough), pizza sauce, cheese, and toppings. I used mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, and green peppers–those are our favorite toppings. I basically just put it all out on the pizza crust like a pizza and then rolled it long-ways into a roll and baked for the time it said to on the pizza dough package. It was SO GOOD, and so easy!

The end result!

The end result!

It made just enough for the two of us–if you have kids, I would definitely make at least 2 of them. I took a piece of it to work for lunch yesterday and it was delicious re-heated!

Last night, I made what is probably my all-time favorite guilt-free baked goods indulgence: pumpkin chocolate chip muffins:

1 can pumpkin (15 oz, NOT pumpkin pie filling)
1 box sugar free chocolate cake mix
1/2 or 1 cup chocolate chips

Mix pumpkin and cake mix together–spoon into muffin pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. Voila, you have chocolate muffins!

You can use any kind of chip for these–last night I used a combo of dark chocolate chips and white chocolate chips because that’s what I had laying around. Next time, I REALLY want to use peanut butter chips. I love chocolate and peanut butter! If you don’t like chocolate, you could use a vanilla cake mix or really whatever type of cake mix-I bet spice cake mix would be really good. These muffins are incredibly moist because of the pumpkin and taste like they should be worth more points than they are–I believe that they are only about 2 WW points each!! Yum!!

muffins

Last night I went to the Y and did a full hour of zumba toning. It was awesome–more on that tomorrow. I’ll also be going to the Y tonight to do regular zumba and to get my zumba toning sticks, as I definitely spaced and left them there last night. Hope all of you are well; it’s almost Friday!

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “So Many Yummies

  1. Are you kidding me?!?? MANATEES ARE MY FAVORITE MARINE MAMMAL! I just love that ole sea cow! I wanted to be a marine biologist growing up and work specifically with them! AHHHH! Coincidence that it’s also Patrick’s favorite?! Hmm…

    Ok not a tea drinker but I’ve heard many people rave about the David’s brand!

    Oh those muffins look DELISH!

Leave a Reply

