Choir Retreat 2014

Happy Sunday, all!

I am back at home safe, sound, cozy, and curled up with little Clara. We missed her while we were at choir retreat this weekend, but we had a BLAST as usual. Here are some highlights:

The Inn

The Inn

Falls

Falls

Falls

Falls

Falls

Falls

Falls

Falls

The falls--completely frozen!

The falls–completely frozen!

Our cozy, cabin-themed room

Our cozy, cabin-themed room

Sunset pulling into the park

Sunset pulling into the park

The view on our walk in the park

The view on our walk in the park

We loved staying in the cozy room and chilling out in the lodge-type lounge. I spent a lot of my weekend doing this, in fact:

book fire

It was so nice to be curled up in front of the fire. We had an awesome time singing most of the weekend and spending time with Patrick’s family. It was overall super relaxing! In our long break yesterday, we went on a walk through the park even though it was cold. We went down to the Falls and they were completely frozen–it was neat! I was thrilled because we got a little bit of activity in (there are a ZILLION stairs that you have to take down to the falls and there was snow everywhere, so walking was difficult lol). We also headed into Bloomington and went to a game store–we don’t have one where we live. I bought a game called “The World Needs a Jetpack Unicorn” which is basically an imaginative storytelling version of “would you rather.” It seems really fun!! Patrick also bought a tobacco pipe, which he has been wanting to do for forever.

I feel like overall, I did REALLY well with food this weekend, especially at meals. The meals we eat at retreat are buffet style, and there is always delicious fried chicken and lots of starches. I at a big salad with every meal (go me!) and I had one SMALL piece of fried chicken at each dinner and the one lunch–so total this whole weekend, I ate one fried chicken leg, one tiny wing, and one small thigh. Let’s be honest…last year, I would have eaten all three of those pieces at ONE MEAL. In addition, I stayed away from the rolls on the table and ate quite a few green veggies like broccoli and green beans with my meals instead of potatoes. I didn’t even eat dessert on Friday night–I treated myself to a piece of pie last night, but that was it. For breakfast yesterday, I filled half of my plate with fresh fruit and ate a small amount of scrambled eggs and one sausage link. I was REALLY proud of myself!!

I did, however, go a bit crazy with snacks last night. I didn’t go as crazy as I used to, but I still had a few wheat thins, some cheese puffs, and a couple of chocolate thingies. I counted them all though on my point counter–no regrets!

I still have 5 activity points left to eat this week before breaking into my weekly points. I’d like to NOT bust into those if at all possible. Tomorrow morning will be tough–we’re having a carry-in breakfast at work. Ugh. Biscuits and gravy, hash brown casserole, donuts…the list goes on. I will have to be very selective and just choose something, or a tiny bit of each thing I think. We’ll see!! I’m also planning on 30 min zumba tonight, 60 min zumba tomorrow, and another 30 on Tuesday. Yay!

Hope you all had a relaxing weekend–I know we sure did! Look at how great Patrick looks with a pipe:

patrick pipe car

So British-looking, smoking his pipe and reading his James Herriot book on our back porch!

So British-looking, smoking his pipe and reading his James Herriot book on our back porch!

And, as a random cute closer pic, here’s Clara wearing the scarf that my mom knitted for me. She can’t keep it because I love it!

clara scarf

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Choir Retreat 2014

  1. Oh wow! Love the pics! So so pretty! Glad you guys had a wonderful and relaxing weekend! Looks like a wonderful time even with all that fluffy snow! And Clara just looks so adorable! Patrick looks a little like Sherlock Holmes there in that 2nd pic! LOL but he ain’t no Cumberbatch! (Did you see last nights ep yet?)

    • Thanks Des! We did have a really great time. We haven’t seen all of Sunday’s episode yet–I fell asleep halfway through and it was SO windy here that our satellite kept cutting out anyway. Not sure when we’ll catch up!

  2. Pretty! What park was that? Honestly, I really never venture into the bottom half of the state unless I’m going to Louisville 🙂 Oops! That pipe is awesome. Great job for keeping it under control, I know things like that definitely test your willpower!

Leave a Reply

