NSV Friday and Some Thoughts

Happy Friday, everyone! The weekend came faster for me since I was at home sick for two days, although I would’ve rather been at work to be honest! That was no fun.

Thanks to all my friends and family who made my birthday yesterday especially awesome. Look at this beautiful cake my work family got for me!:

Flowers, butterflies, dragonflies--but I also think it could pass for "Under the Sea"

Flowers, butterflies, dragonflies–but I also think it could pass for “Under the Sea”

At any rate, it’s that time again: NSV Friday!

button

This week I had a couple of NSV’s–well, one NSV and one scale-related victory. First of all, last night when I went to Patrick’s pool game at the bar after my awesome hour of zumba, there was an old fellow gamer there visiting from KY. We haven’t seen him probably since September or October. As soon as I got there, he said, “Whoa! Kelly! Have you lost weight? Like a significant amount of weight?!” And I told him that I had, and he was like, “Wow, you look great. Really healthy.” That was AWESOME coming from him. So that was really pretty neat.

The other victory comes at the YMCA. Two weeks ago, I signed up for their “Lose a Ton, Give a Ton” challenge. Basically, for every pound I lose, a pound of food is donated to a family in need. I figured I might as well sign up for this while losing weight! I didn’t realize that I actually am the one buying the food when I lose, but I’m totally ok with that…a pound of potatoes or peanut butter at Aldi won’t put me back much. At any rate, I weigh in for that every 2 weeks at the Y, so last night I weighed in before zumba. I’d just like to say that weighing in in the evenings after a full day of eating and wearing clothes SUCKS. The Y’s scale weighs me at about 5 lbs more than what I do on my scale, but as I said, that’s fully clothed and after a day of food. However, last night the scale there put me at 216, which is exactly 5 lbs above where I weighed this week on my scale–that’s a difference from 2 weeks ago of 6 POUNDS! I was thrilled that this was consistent with my scale, and even more thrilled that I’ll get to donate a whole 6 POUNDS of food to a family in need. The whole process hasn’t really been super well-organized yet (not the fault of the guy in charge–he is balancing a LOT of different weight loss challenges now), so I’m not sure when I’ll buy or what I’ll be buying. But it’s a win win 🙂

OK, really quickly–I have to get something off my chest about the Biggest Loser, as everyone is all abuzz with the results of the most recent season. I’m not going to comment on what I think about the winner’s results or what she looks like–as Katie @ Runs for Cookies says, she has been self-conscious about her weight her whole life, so this is no different. BUT, I need to get something off my chest. WHY, why, WHY, is everyone so obsessed with the Biggest Loser? I must confess that I watched the very first season–and then couldn’t do it anymore. I find the obsession with the show disgusting for several reasons, the biggest being that it is totally HARMING these folks who need to lose large amounts of weight. I know that there are people who will disagree with me, but just hear me out:

1. These contestants lose insane, unhealthy amounts of weight in one week. One contestant lost 17 POUNDS in a week this season. Are you kidding me? What is that doing to their body??
2. My biggest problem with the show is that it totally doesn’t prepare folks for weight loss maintenance. First of all, they are training all day, every day with a personal trainer to lose the weight. (Unrealistic for real life). Second of all, they are faced with ridiculous choices: eat a cupcake, or have a chance at winning $250k. I’m sorry, who in their right mind would eat that cupcake?? (Unrealistic for real life. Hate to say it, but if you’re facing a cupcake at work with your coworkers for someone else’s bday, you can’t opt out just because you might win a bunch of money).

I know that it doesn’t apply to everyone on the show, but there is a reason that people gain back the weight (and more) after winning or losing weight on the Biggest Loser. There is no plan in place for what happens OUTSIDE of the controlled environment of the show. I just think it’s doing a huge, HUGE disservice to people who could really be losing weight in a healthy way.

OK, rant over. Let the angry comments stream in–I don’t mind–everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion. But let’s take one for the team, America, and start realizing that there is a HEALTHY way to lose weight, and it’s not by going on the Biggest Loser. Let’s not criticize the winner of the latest season for a fault that is inherently built into the show.

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend–anyone have any fun plans? We are playing DnD tomorrow for my bday–looking forward to it…and…THE WALKING DEAD IS BACK ON SUNDAY! JOY AND RAPTURE!

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “NSV Friday and Some Thoughts

Leave a Reply

