Weekend Recap

Happy Monday, everyone! I for one was hoping for a snow day today, but that didn’t happen. We were supposed to get 6-8 inches of snow, but it looks to me like we got more like 2-4 inches and a thin yet dangerous sheen of ice. Lovely. I am so sick of this ish!

At any rate, we had an incredibly relaxing and lazy weekend. Friday night was Pathfinder game night, and it was lots of fun. It was just me and the guys since Bre is away at military training, but we did Skype her in and that was pretty awesome. Look at this amazingly delicious fried ice cream dessert that I brought:

fried ice cream

This was SO FRAKKING GOOD. It tasted JUST like the fried ice cream that you get at any Mexican restaurant…it was incredibly easy too:

1. Fry 1 stick of butter with 1 cup of granulated sugar and 3 cups of crushed cornflakes
2. Press 1/2 of the cornflake mixture into the bottom of a 13×9 pan
3. Mix together 2 quarts of vanilla ice cream, 1 container of cool whip, and 1 tsp cinnamon and spread on top of cornflake mixture in pan
4. Sprinkle remaining cornflake mixture on top, drizzle with honey

Holy crap this stuff was amazing. So amazing, in fact, that I left it at Scott’s on purpose so that I wouldn’t have it in my house. Phew. 1/15th of this thing is 11 points! Wow! It was worth it, though. All y’all know that I don’t believe in “low-fat” or skimping when I treat myself to a dessert, and this is a case in point.

I did become a domestic goddess on Saturday as I frequently do, doing several loads of laundry and preparing food for the two of us. I made this delicious brunch:

brunch

Mmmmm…farm fresh eggs from my mom’s chickens, center cut bacon, and monkeybread. That monkeybread was amazing–I’m pretty sure I should never ever make it again. For realz, lol…may have overdone that a bit. We had baked taters for dinner.

Yesterday, church was cancelled because of the winter storm, so we slept in and did nothing all day. We actually did watch the first 3 episodes of season 1 of Dr. Who (DESIREE! I KNOW YOU ARE SQUEALING IN DELIGHT RIGHT NOW) …not the old one, the new one w/ Christopher Eccleston. It is so. good. We will probably binge-watch that for a while now. We didn’t go to Scott’s to see Walking Dead because of the weather, so I’ll catch up on it tomorrow night…we don’t get AMC. It’s horrible! We did watch most of the Oscars, although I fell asleep at 11:15, so I missed the last of it. It was just ok I thought…Ellen’s opening was hilarious though, as usual. Anyone else SUPER excited for Season 2 premiere of Bates Motel tonight? I can’t wait!

Hope you all had a great weekend–anyone do anything a lot more fun than my weekend of sitting around?

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Muwahahaha Its my mission in life to turn every single person into a Whovian! So so so so glad you guys like it so far. I thought you might!

    I’m super excited about Bates Motel but it’s up against a few other shoes (so I need to figure out what to do with my dvr to arrange things a bit.

    • Hahaha I knew you’d be excited!! We watched the plastic men episode and I was hooked from the start. I mean seriously the number of things they can do with the plot are basically endless because of the nature of the show. I love it, so creative!
      We’ll have to chat about Bates motel once you’ve seen it!

      • *shows not shoes.

        Yes, So so so glad you liked it and yes, the possibilities are endless. And trust me, the writing on Doctor Who gets much, much better (even from those first few episodes with Eccleston – and trust me.. his eps are good).

        Absolutely. I will juggle some stuff around tonight I know they re-air Top Gear later, so I’ll just record that at a later time to get B.M. (he he he) in.

Leave a Reply

