Atlanta: An Illustrated Journey

And by illustrated, I mean that this post will be full of pics!

Hi ya’ll–I was in Atlanta for work this weekend, and I had a fantastic time. The weather on Saturday was absolutely gorgeous, so I spent almost all afternoon walking around downtown and soaking up the sights. I stayed in the Marriott Marquis downtown, which was reeeeally nice:

That bottle of water was $6!! Yikes

That bottle of water was $6!! Yikes

hotel bed

hotel coffee

I was on the 42nd floor--this was my view down from outside my room...can you say vertigo?

I was on the 42nd floor–this was my view down from outside my room…can you say vertigo?

The view outside my room by day

The view outside my room by day

The view outside my room by night

The view outside my room by night

I just wandered around downtown and found a yummy ATL place to eat–the Landmark Diner. I had a monte cristo sandwich–turkey, ham, and swiss cheese with french toast for bread! It was de-lish, but I could only eat 1/2 of it! I also may or may not have indulged in a slice of their red velvet cake for my dinner; I have no regrets!

In addition to walking around all over downtown, I decided to pay a visit to “The Wonderful World of Coca-Cola” museum. I’ve always been a “coke” gal–none of that Pepsi stuff, thank you! It was really super fun, and I took LOADS of pics:

coke 1

coke 2

Old-fashioned soda fountain

Old-fashioned soda fountain

coke 4

coke 5

Obv had to take a pic of dice!!

Obv had to take a pic of dice!!

The "round" coca-cola bottle was invented in my hometown, Terre Haute IN...so I had to take a pic!

The “round” coca-cola bottle was invented in my hometown, Terre Haute IN…so I had to take a pic!

coke 8

Each state has its own unique version of the Coke bottle--here's ours!

Each state has its own unique version of the Coke bottle–here’s ours!

coke 10

coke 11

That's the olympic torch from London 2012...I had to snap a pic (you Whovians out there will get it!)

That’s the olympic torch from London 2012…I had to snap a pic (you Whovians out there will get it!)

First coke machine to go in space!

First coke machine to go in space!

coke 14

I work at an engineering school--had to take a pic of this!

I work at an engineering school–had to take a pic of this!

coke 16

We all got "free" coke bottles as souvenirs!

We all got “free” coke bottles as souvenirs!

In the last room, there are over 60 flavors of pop that coke makes from all over the world that you can sample. You can try all of them if you want–I only tried 2 or so from each “continent.” My faves were actually apple-flavored pops…they were most popular in Asian and South American countries. I didn’t care so much for the almost licorice-tasting one from Tanzania…but it was so cool to be able to try them all! If you’re ever looking for tourist-y things to do in Atlanta, I’d def recommend this museum, esp if you are a Coke-lover. There is a nice Norman Rockwell (and others) art exhibit and TONS of coke paraphernalia, not to mention a great gift shop where you can buy anything and everything Coca-Cola. Lots of history, too. Did you know that the Coke company sold for FIVE CENTS?! Cray. Next year if I go to this fair again, I’m going to try the CNN tour or the aquarium.

I walked SO MUCH between downtown ATL and the ATL airport that I got more than my fair share of exercise…which is good, as I barely did anything else last week with being sick. I weighed in today–let’s just say it was a huge surprise–will post tomorrow! Have a great Tuesday, everyone!

Follow on Bloglovin

8 thoughts on “Atlanta: An Illustrated Journey

  1. Because I have a side of evil, next time you go to the Coke Museum (or if you go to WDW) and sample any more coke products, you must must must try “The Beverly” from Italy I believe. And then take a selfie of your reaction. Inquiring minds want to know your reaction. πŸ™‚

    LOOOVE the pics! What an awesome day and you did get plenty of exercise in! Can’t wait for your W.I.!

  2. What great pics, I love just wandering around new places — as long as the areas not too sketchy of course πŸ˜‰ I’ts amazing how much you can actually walk without tiring while youre distracted by the sights! Glad to have found your blog, will definitely be following through bloglovin!

  3. That coke museum looks awesome! Love me some Diet Coke–but have limited myself to 1-2 a week now! Would pretty much be in heaven with all those samples!!

Leave a Reply

