Weekend Rewind

Wow y’all, it was a CRAZY busy weekend! I wish I could say that it was super relaxing, but alas. We were all over the place! It was a good one though.

On Friday night we went grocery shopping and just chilled at home for a bit; I had ridden my bike to and from work that day again so I didn’t need to work out that evening. It was really nice to just sit on the couch! PLUS, Netflix finally added series 7 of Doctor Who, so we finished some episodes up on that. The end of the era of the Ponds…sad day. On Saturday, we got up and went to look at motorcycles. Patrick really wants to lose weight, and he wants his weight loss goal present to himself to be a bike. I have to say that I am not opposed to the idea of being able to ride on the back of one of those things on a beautiful day, so we just went to browse. It was really fun! Then we went and got some lunch, then headed to the bookstore to browse. I had NO idea Stephen King has a new book out:

mr mercedes

I REALLY REALLY REALLY wanted to buy this, but they only had it in hardcover and it was $30.00. No thanks, I’ll wait until the library has it FO FREE. So then that made me want to go to the library, which is what we did next. I checked out Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett on a recommendation from a co-worker, and am so glad I did. If you’ve never read it and you’re interested in reading about a fictional story that takes place in a fictional English town in 1153 during the building of a giant cathedral, you should read it. It is SO GOOD, so far at least!

We went home for a little bit and I decided that I wanted to start going through our garage to get rid of some stuff, so I did that for an hour or so, then I went on a walk with Clara. It was so beautiful outside, and not too hot. Then I jumped in the shower and we went over to Scott and Bre’s to discuss the LARP that we are running at Gencon. We had a great time!

On Sunday, we got up and went to church, then helped set up for VBS a little. We then met my parents for lunch for father’s day; it was really fun. I ate my favorite salad that has fried chicken strips, apples, walnuts, and raisins. Yum! After that, we went home for a bit before we had to head back to VBS. Instead of sitting on the couch, I took a 40 minute bike ride because it was another pretty day. By the time I got home, it was time to head back to church for the first night of VBS. I’m a group leader, and I have 3 kids in my group. They are great, even the 3-yr-old boy who seems to have ENDLESS amounts of energy. We quickly realized that for the remaining times at VBS this week, we were going to wait to give him his pixie sticks until AFTER the VBS evening was over, lol. That really worked for us last night 🙂

After VBS, we went to Bre and Scott’s for the Game of Thrones season finale, and headed home. Phew! Look at this shirt I got in the mail last night to wear at Gencon:

"Ehr ma gerd, yer kner nerthing, Jern Sner"

“Ehr ma gerd, yer kner nerthing, Jern Sner”

It is an American Apparel 2x, so it’s pretty big on me, but their sizes run small so I didn’t know what to get. It’s SO long! Oh well!

Hope you all had a great weekend; I’m looking forward to the Weigh-in Wednesday link up tomorrow!

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Weekend Rewind

  1. OMG haha I LOVE that shirt! Hilarious! Sounds like a busy but very fun weekend! I didn’t realize SK had a new book out either. Hmm. I finally picked up my kindle after about 5 months now last night and started reading a little while at the bowling alley. I’m “giving” Gillian Flynn one more try with “Dark Places”. My hopes are not up but that’s the only thing I had in my kindle that piqued my interest at the time. I still need to finish those TWD comics too!

    • I haven’t finished the TWD comics either..I got so far ahead of the show that I was tired of “spoilers” so to speak…TWD is like the only show that I watch where I haven’t read the books and don’t know what’s coming next, so I decided that I want to keep it that way, lol.

  2. That shirt is hilarious!
    My mom read Mr Mercedes. Thought it was a very good mystery book but not very Stephen King-y.
    Is The Day of the Doctor on Netflix?I could honestly watch that one episode over and over.

    • Ahhh sadly the Day of the Doctor and the Night of the Doctor (or whatever that one is called) are not on Netflix…I haven’t seen either of them, but Desiree has told me how amazing they are!

Leave a Reply

