Holiday Weekend Rewind

Happy Monday, everyone! Boy, is it hard to go back to work after a well-deserved 3 day weekend!

We had a great 4th and got a lot done this weekend. Among other things, we got to hang out at my parents’ farm and see my brother, I finished my book and started Stephen King’s new book, I worked in the garage some, and I biked 12 miles. We had some of the most beautiful weather I’ve ever seen in July, and I took advantage of it by going on the bike trail every day. On my “rest” day between 6 mile bike rides, I took Clara on a leisurely walk:

She didn't want to look at me for a picture!

She didn’t want to look at me for a picture!

Sooo pretty out

Sooo pretty out

I got a lot of laundry done, and still was able to take a short nap on Saturday. We played a level 20 Cthulhu DnD game on Saturday, and it was tons of fun. Overall, it was a (packed) but awesome weekend. Now I’ve just got to get back into work mode…hard to do in the summer!

I also made one of my favorite Weight Watchers recipes on Thursday night and had lots of leftovers for the weekend. I want to share the recipe because it is seriously THE BEST, and is only 8 points per (huge) serving. Here’s how it turns out:

Baked ziti with turkey sausage

Baked ziti with turkey sausage

I like it because it packs in a lot of veggies (tomatoes, peas, and onions specifically) while being pretty sneaky about it. LOOK AT ALL THESE COLORFUL VEGGIES!

ziti insides

At any rate, here is the recipe:

Ingredients
3/4 pound(s) uncooked turkey sausage(s), spicy-variety, casings removed
1 medium uncooked onion(s), chopped
1 medium green pepper(s), chopped
28 oz canned diced tomatoes
10 oz frozen green peas, thawed
2 Tbsp canned tomato paste
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp fennel seed
1/2 tsp table salt, or to taste
1/2 tsp black pepper, freshly ground
12 oz uncooked whole wheat pasta, ziti, cooked according to package directions (I used penne)
6 oz shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

Instructions
Position the rack in the center of the oven and preheat the oven to 350°F.

Crumble the sausage meat into a large saucepan and brown over medium heat, stirring often, about 4 minutes.

Drain off any fat, then add the onion and bell pepper. Cook, stirring often, until softened, about 3 minutes.

Stir in the tomatoes, peas, tomato paste, oregano, basil, thyme, fennel seeds, salt and pepper. Bring to a simmer, then reduce the heat and cook uncovered 5 minutes, stirring often.

Stir in the cooked pasta and half the cheese. Spread evenly into a 9- X 13-inch baking pan. Top evenly with the remaining cheese.

Bake until the cheese has melted and the casserole is bubbling, about 20 minutes. Let stand 10 minutes at room temperature before slicing into 8 pieces. Yields 1 piece per serving.

Enjoy! Have a great week, everyone…see you on Wednesday for Weigh-in!

Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Holiday Weekend Rewind

  1. Yum sounds like a great recipe, I’ll have to try it.
    We had PERFECT holiday weather. gotta love that! Glad you got out and moved. That’s the best!

Leave a Reply

