Yummy 4P+ Sausage and Rice Casserole

Hi friends!

I happened upon a DELICIOUS-looking recipe from Mandy at South Your Mouth, one of my fave recipe blogs. I edited a little to lighten it up, and BOOM came out with a delicious dinner that is only 4 points plus per serving! It is outrageously delicious and each serving is huuuuuuge. Here is the original version:

You can find the original version here. Instead of using pork sausage, I used these (my new favorite discovery!!!):

turkey

Jimmy Dean’s turkey sausage crumbles are WHERE IT’S AT, Y’ALL. I can use them for this recipe, I can use them for quiche, putting in crescent rolls, casseroles, and other random things. I love them. AND THEY’RE TURKEY. ‘Nuff said.

Anyway, I use 8 oz of these sausage crumbles for this recipe, and I omit onion (because I’m not a big onion fan). I do brown the sausage in a skillet before adding the other ingredients, although the sausage is fully cooked. I also use 98% fat free chicken broth and 98% fat free cream of celery soup. Using all of those things and putting them in an 8″x8″ baking dish, I used the Weight Watchers recipe builder to figure that 1/4 of the finished result is only 4 points plus. And it is SO delicious. I made it two times in one week when I discovered it–and it is wonderful re-heated.

Head on over to South Your Mouth and check it out!

Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Yummy 4P+ Sausage and Rice Casserole

  1. Wow, I may have to find this turkey sausage. I cooking most meats because it makes the house stink up (weird, I know) but having it precooked means it doesn’t have to brown as long. and the casserole looks delish!

Leave a Reply

